The Referee of World Cup 2022 Final Breaks Silence with “Photo”

  • Publish date: Wednesday، 28 December 2022
The Referee of World Cup 2022 Final Breaks Silence with “Photo”
Related articles
Learn About The 2022 World Cup Final Referee
"Frappart" Is First Woman to Referee in The History of World Cup
The Tragedy of Maracanã Stadium in World Cup 1950

Polish Szymon Marciniak, the referee of the 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France, came out to defend himself after the criticism leveled at him recently.

It is noteworthy that the Argentine national team was crowned World Cup champion for the third time in its history after its victory over France on penalties (4-2) after the end of the original and extra time of the final match that was held at Lusail Stadium, with a 3-3 draw on Sunday, December 18th.

Regarding Paragraph 9 of Article 3 of the Football Law, Marciniak said in statements reported by the French newspaper “Le Parisien”: “First, in order for this goal to be canceled, this situation must have an impact on the game, but what is the impact of the players who got up and crossed the pitch?

They are looking for anything to argue with.”

He added, "There are serious newspapers, and there are those that are looking for an uproar. The French did not mention this clarification from Law No. 3, Paragraph 9, at all."

And the Polish referee resorted to his phone in his hands in front of the photographers to clarify the evidence supporting his defense, saying: “You can see in the photo that there were 7 French substitutes on the field when Kylian Mbappe scored, and the French did not mention that either.”

Szymon Marciniak also indicated at the end of his statements that the French national team players didn't complain about him after the end of the match, as he said: “Mbappe unexpectedly hugged me in his arms, he was very sad and disappointed by the defeat, I

Polish Szymon Marciniak, the referee of the 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France, came out to defend himself after the criticism leveled at him recently.

think it was a human gesture from him.

I told him that he is an exceptional player who won the World Cup four years ago."

He added, "Argentine Paulo Dybala also came, and started thanking me as if I had scored the decisive penalty kick."

The Polish referee concluded his statement with the press by saying, "I think I refereed the final match of the World Cup fairly, and in the end, whoever deserved it won.

I congratulate the Argentine national team for its great achievement and hard luck to the French national team.”