4 Teams Qualified for the World Cup Final Two Times in a Row

  • Publish date: Friday، 16 December 2022
4 Teams Qualified for the World Cup Final Two Times in a Row

France National Team continued to write history in the World Cup, after qualifying for the final of the competition for the second time in a row.

The French national team achieved a difficult victory over Morocco, with two goals to nil, last Wednesday evening, during the match that brought the two sides together at Al-Bayt Stadium, in the semi-finals of the 2022 World Cup.

This comes only 4 years after the French national team won the World Cup for the second time in its history, after beating Croatia 4-2 in the final of the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Thus, France became the fifth team to qualify for the World Cup final at least twice in a row, after Italy, Brazil, the Netherlands, and West Germany.

4 teams preceded France in this achievement

The beginning was with the Italian national team, which qualified for the finals of the 1934 and 1938 editions, and at that time succeeded in achieving the title at the expense of Czechoslovakia 2-0, then Hungary 4-2.

Then the Brazilian team, reached the final match in the 1958 and 1962 editions, where it won the first over host Sweden 5-2.

Then Brazil won the final match of the 1962 World Cup in Chile over Czechoslovakia 3-1, before repeating the matter and reaching the final 3 times in a row during the 1994, 1998 and 2002 editions.

In the 1994 edition hosted by the United States of America, the Brazilian national team won the title at the expense of Italy in a penalty shootout 3-2. In the 1998 edition, the Brazilians lost the final match against host France, 0-3, before regaining the title in the 2002 World Cup in South Korea and Japan, by defeating Germany 2-0.

The Dutch national team is the third team to achieve this achievement, as it qualified for the final match of 1974 and 1978 World Cup editions but lost on both occasions to West Germany 1-2 and Argentina 1-3.

The West German national team succeeded in qualifying for the final 3 times in a row in the 1982, 1986 and 1990 editions, and lost in the first and second final matches against Italy 1-3 and Argentina 2-3, before it was able to take revenge from Argentina in the 1990 World Cup in Italy by winning the final match with one goal to nil.

It is noteworthy that the French national team, which succeeded in winning two final matches that it previously played against Brazil in 1998 and Croatia in 2018, and lost the third one against Italy 2006 , will face Argentina in the Qatar World Cup 2022 final on Sunday, December 18 at Lusail Stadium.

Follow us on our Whatsapp channel for latest news