Mbappé Adds His Name to World Cup Scorers List Throughout History

  • Publish date: Tuesday، 20 December 2022
Mbappé Adds His Name to World Cup Scorers List Throughout History
Related articles
Learn About the Clubs That Won World Cup Titles the Most
What Did the International Press Say About Messi and Mbappe
Mbappé Surpasses Ronaldo and Matches Messi in Goalscorer Record

French phenomenon Kylian Mbappe joined the list of World Cup top scorers after winning the Golden Boot award at the World Cup in Qatar with 8 goals, ahead of Messi, who snatched the cup for Argentina in the final match, which was decided by penalty kicks 4-2 after the two teams tied 3-3 in the original and extra time.

Mbappe scored goals against Australia, Denmark (two goals), Poland (two goals), and Argentina (hat-trick).

Here is a list of the World Cup's top scorers from 1930 to 2022, and the list includes 27 players in 22 editions of the World Cup, led by Brazil, with its players winning the award 5 times, followed by Germany 3 times, England, France, Argentina, and Italy twice.

1930: Argentine Guillermo Stabile (8 goals)

1934: Czechoslovakian Oldrich Needley (5)

1938: Brazilian Leonidas (7)

1950: Brazilian Ademir (9)

1954: Hungarian Sandor Kocic (11)

1958:  French Just Fontaine, (13)

1962: Brazilians Garrincha and Vava, Chilean Lionel Sanchez, Hungarian Florian Albert, Soviet Valentin Ivanov, and Yugoslav Dragan Yerkovich (4)

1966: Portuguese Eusebio (9)

1970: West German Gerd Müller (10)

1974: Polish Grzegorz Lato (7)

1978: Argentine Mario Kempes (6)

1982: Italian Paolo Rossi (6)

1986: England's Gary Lineker (6)

1990: Italian Salvatore Schillaci (6)

1994: Russian Oleg Salenko and Bulgarian Hristo Stoichkov (6)

1998: Croatian Davor Suker (6)

2002: Brazilian Ronaldo (8)

2006: German Miroslav Klose (5)

2010: German Thomas Muller (5)

2014: Colombian James Rodriguez (6).

2018: England's Harry Kane (6)

2022: French Kylian Mbappe (8)