Pakistan Independence Day: 14 August

  • Publish date: Sunday، 14 August 2022 Last update: Monday، 14 August 2023
Pakistan Independence Day: 14 August

Pakistan Independence Day is a national holiday in Pakistan.

The primary Independence Day event is held in Islamabad, with the national flag flown above the Parliament and Presidency buildings. This is followed by the national anthem and extensively disseminated and broadcast remarks by Pakistan's President and Prime Minister.

Pakistan Independence Day: 14 August


“Unity, Faith, and Discipline” is the guiding principle and national motto of Pakistan. The country celebrates its Independence Day on August 14.

Pakistan Independence Day: 14 August


Pakistan Independence Day, August 14, might be termed a double day of liberty. Muslim Indians battled to be free of British rule as well and then re-armed to fight for their own nation-state, present-day Pakistan, which was originally part of the Indian subcontinent. After the British crushed the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the Crown seized complete power during the British Raj period. This lasted until Pakistan's independence in 1947. The Mountbatten Plan separated Pakistan (West and East Pakistan) from India, creating an autonomous Muslim republic. East Pakistan won independence in 1971, becoming known as Bangladesh. West Pakistan is currently known simply as Pakistan.

The establishment of Pakistan is a remarkable and one-of-a-kind event in modern history.

Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh were formerly part of a single vast area known as the Indian subcontinent. Since the introduction and acceptance of Islam in the subcontinent, there have been conflict and oppression of Muslims by Hindus. After the War of Independence in 1857, intellectual thinking and ideologies were put into action to protect the Muslim minority.

It was a significant historical event. The gathering was attended by prominent Muslim leaders from around India, and there was finally a valid answer to Muslims' centuries-long battle for sovereignty and freedom. The turning moment occurred on February 20, 1947, when British Prime Minister Clement Attlee announced that India will have total self-government by June 1948. Lord Mountbatten, the last viceroy of India, issued the 'June Plan' after several meetings with the British administration and Congress leaders.

Mountbatten's plan was accepted by both India's Congress and the Muslim League. The British parliament passed the Indian Independence Act in July 1947. On July 20, Pakistan and India constituted separate interim administrations. Finally, on August 14, 1947, the vast subcontinent of British India was partitioned into India and Pakistan.

There was a lot of bloodshed and devastation throughout the partition. Since the creation of the idea of a distinct nation for Muslims, Hindu cruelty has increased, and there has been strong hostility to Jinnah and the other Muslim leaders' plans to create a sovereign identity for Muslims. Families and lineages were decimated, and stories of partitioning are still being recorded and kept now.

“You are free; you are free to go to your temples. You are free to go to your mosques or to any other places of worship in this State of Pakistan. You may belong to any religion, caste or creed — that has nothing to do with the business of the state.” ― Muhammad Ali Jinnah